View our list of award winning wines


 

For more information visit

The Soil Association symbol (pictured) is used to guarantee that labelled food has been grown or produced to the highest standards of organic integrity.


Visitors

Why Organic?
 

Vegetarian and Vegan



Isn't wine made from grapes? How can it not be vegetarian or vegan?
Although wine is made from grapes, it may have had animal derived products, for example gelatine, isinglass (from fish swim bladders), or egg white, used in the winemaking process.

A "Fine" way to carry on
These products may be added to remove proteins, yeasts, and other organic particles which are in suspension during the making of the wine. The " fining agent" is added to the top of the vat, and as it sinks down, the particles adhere to it, and are carried out of suspension. None of the fining agent remains in the finished product sold in the bottle. Not all wines are fined.


Vegetarians and Vegans may prefer wines that have been made without the use of any animal products and there are many organic wines, beers, and ciders available to choose from. Specialist organic suppliers are able to provide information about any of the wines they supply - by far the majority of organic wines are suitable for vegetarians or vegans. When you visit this site, you will see that information about whether each wine is suitable for vegetarians and vegans is given in the description next to each wine. The same goes for our beers and lagers.

See Also Why Organic :: GMO & Additives

 
 




  Organic Consumers Association


Organics R Us
PO Box 2038
Birdlip
Gloucester
GL4 8WF

E-Mail Us


Mixed Cases?

Available Now

 
  home products contact terms and conditions  
    2003 Shopping Cart Software by ecommercetemplates.com Site Development by Gregsy.COM and enhanced by Sunny-Properties.Com